Christmas 2015

Well, as I start this post, Sharon is off rollerblading up the promenade between Torreblanca and Los Boliches.  I am sat here on the beach, in the mid-afternoon sunshine, wishing I’d been able to find a bike I liked before Christmas; then I could have accompanied her.

I have developed plantar fasciitis, for which there seems to only one real cure – time! I first experienced it back in November and it seems to have got steadily worse. The pain when walking for extended periods is excruciating, hence my unsuccessful search for a bike and me sitting on the beach. Just to point out, it is still December.

We’ve just said goodbye to Tony and Gill who have been with us since the day before Christmas Eve. I cooked Beef Bourguignonne for us all that first night and we spent Christmas Eve itself downstairs at Marlene and Rene’s place.  On Christmas Day, Tony and Gill made their way up and across the hill/mountain behind us to Mijas – something I’d also wanted to do this visit as the weather was perfect.  We picked them up mid-afternoon and after a coffee in Mijas itself, we set off for an hour on the beach. Gill and I went in the sea!

me and Gill swimming in the Med. 251215

 

We actually swam for a few minutes – it was cold but not so cold that we couldn’t celebrate Christmas Day with a dip in the Mediterranean!

For Christmas dinner I started us off with tapas as the sun went down about 6:00pm (patatas bravas, new potato and chorizo sticks, sliced cheese, dried (jerky?) tuna and roast red peppers are what I can remember).  We then took our time with poached hake on French peas, roast pork and all the trimmings, a Sharon-cooked cherry clafoutis and some Betty’s Christmas cake with crumbly Lancashire cheese! A toast at midnight and we were done.

 

Leave a Reply

